Crescent City Classic, Glow Run, and Other Thoughts

The Crescent City Classic
For five months, one race loomed large in my mind as something either fantastic or awful, something out of which I would come either valiant or defeated: the crescent city classic 10k. I’m aware that 6 miles really isn’t that big of a deal, but I do still consider myself somewhat of a beginner. When I signed up in November, I had yet to run 6 consecutive miles, and April seemed years away. But, suddenly, there it was. It all became real when I received my running gear from the expo a few nights before the race. It wasn’t until I was standing in the charity runners’ corral in the amazingly chilly morning air on April 4 that I realized it was actually happening. Up until that day, I had been more stressed out about raising enough money for my charity (Team Fox in support of the Michael J Fox Foundation-so, so glad to have such a fantastic organization to support) than about actually running the race. But now the fundraising was done, the gun went off, and the race began. In the first mile, a strong wind pushed against us with such force it was as though we were trying to run through a wall. Other than the wind, though, the weather was ideal. Humidity was low, there was complete cloud coverage, and for the first mile or so there was a misty rain keeping us cool and preventing us from sweating buckets in the usual New Orleans fashion.

20150410-183435.jpg Anxiously awaiting the start of the race

There were a few moments when I was not surrounded by many people, and I was not sure whether I was leading one group or tailing another. There were several moments when my brain was trying to convince me that I needed to stop, but I carried on. It’s something about being in a competition that gives me the extra drive necessary to push through the pain and, more importantly, through a mind that won’t shut up about stopping. A low and rather humorous point occurred around mile four, when suddenly a group of people dressed in full-body costumes as Easter bunnies, turtles, and peeps passed me up. At that moment, I knew I had lost.

The best part of the whole race were the spectators. It’s an incredible feeling to have the citizens of the city come out and cheer you on. Some people played music, others clapped and shouted words of encouragement, others had signs, and one particular group at mile three passed out free beer. Got to love New Orleans. Nothing beat the moment when, on approaching the finish line, I saw my best friend and her father on the sideline. All the spectators, but especially my friend and her dad, gave me that extra push I needed to cross that finish line. And that was that. After five months of off-and-on training, fundraising, excitement, and anxiety, it was done. In 54 minutes and 13 seconds, I had accomplished a dream. I was so euphoric I didn’t even realize how exhausted I was. That realization would occur later, while fighting to stay awake during our church’s Easter vigil mass…

20150410-183625.jpg my official charity runner bib, Crescent City Classic 2015 tshirt, and Team Fox hat.

Absolutely nothing compares to the elation that occurs when crossing the finish line of a race. Whether I’m more happy that it’s done or to have done it, I can’t really say. What I do know is that, by the time my mother and I were enjoying a late breakfast at the Canal Street Bistro a short while later, I was already thinking about the next distance to tackle: the half-marathon. I figure that if I can hit ten miles by the end of the summer, I should be able to swing thirteen miles by October. As soon as I got home from the Classic, I signed up for a 5k that would take place at my university the following Wednesday night.

20150410-183809.jpg At the finish line, with my good friend who was unable to run the race with me as we had intended. She’s the best!

The Glow Run
Day-Glo paint, glow sticks, and poorly-lit (not to mention poorly-paved) campus streets. Those are the things that define the Glow Run 5k. In stark contrast to Saturday’s Crescent City Classic weather, Wednesday was hot and humid. Good old Mississippi. Although I was pretty uncomfortable for the duration of the race, I did feel a little better about it than I did about the Classic, mainly because I managed to pass by quite a few people, while at the Classic I was pretty much consistently the one being passed by. By the time I crossed the finish line, I was completely drenched in sweat and felt somehow more exhausted than I did after the 10k. I ended up beating my personal record that night, completing the 3 miles in 23 minutes and 50 seconds. There is some speculation that the course was a bit short, and honestly I’m inclined to believe that; however, based on my 10k time of 54 minutes, I do think that my 5k time would be around 25 minutes, which is still better than it was for the last 5k I ran way back in November (29 minutes).

What I learned from these races this past week is that I’ve become too much of a competitor. I think it is healthy to be competitive and to have a drive to win, but I don’t think that competitiveness or that drive is healthy at all in excess. I’ve become too eager to cross the finish line at each race that I’ve lost the joy of running. I’m not going to lie, often I’m pretty miserable while running around campus, but there’s something exciting about going different places while running. I remember the first time I decided to go off-campus for a run and ended up downtown without meaning to. Granted, there’s really nothing at all in downtown Hattiesburg, but it was an adventure to get out. One of the parts of the Crescent City Classic course I was most looking forward to was the run through Jackson Square, when we would pass in front of St. Louis Cathedral. Prior to the race, I had seen some beautiful photos on the CCC Facebook page of runners going by the Cathedral, and I had intended to make a note of when I passed by. When the race actually took place, however, I was so wrapped up in my own mind that I somehow completely missed running by that icon of our historic city. I think it’s important to notice those things. Sure, physically you may not feel fantastic while running, but if it felt fantastic, everyone would be doing it. It’s hard work, but it’s completely worth it. I was fully able to enjoy myself *after* the race, indulging in that post-race glee that always seems to occur. My goal for the next race, however, is to really cherish each moment, as cheesy as that sounds. It can’t just be about the time. It can’t just be about finishing. The running itself has to be enjoyable, otherwise, where’s the fun?

The next official race I am going to run is the Crescent City Connection in June. It is a 4-mile race in the Crescent City Classic series, and it’s a bridge-run at sunset. My mental camera is ready. In the long-run (no pun intended), as I mentioned earlier, I plan to run a half-marathon in the fall. First, I would like to hit ten miles by the end of the summer. Before I can get there consecutively, though, I’m going to try ten miles in a day in increments. So, my goal for next Friday (April 17), I intend to run 4 miles in the morning, 3 miles in the afternoon, and 3 miles in the evening. I’ve never done that before, but what is college (and life in general) about if not taking chances that could either turn out to be really fantastic or really stupid?

Happy running, everyone, and I’ll write again next Friday! Hopefully after having run ten miles in a day…πŸ‘ŸπŸ‘ŸπŸ‘Ÿ

Leave a comment